Maha Shakti Peetha Temples In India

Shakti Means manifestations of the goddess of Dakshayani, Sati, Parvati or Durga, the main deity of power in Hinduism . As per legend on the death of the goddess Sati ,Out of grief and sorrow, Shiva carried Sati's body, and roamed around the universe with it. Shakti Peethas are where different parts of Goddess  Shakti have fallen when Lord Vishnu's Chakra, Sudarshana Chakra, cut through the corpse of Sati , which fell on Earth to become sacred sites or Shakti Peeth of Goddess Sati.

There are totally 51 famous Peethas scattered across India and neighboring countries of these 4 are considered as Adi Shaktipeeth and 18 as Maha Shakti Peethas . The  18 Maha Shakti Peeth are Kamakshi Amman Temple, Sri Srunkhala Devi Temple , Chamundeshwari Templel, Shri Jogulamba Temple , Bhramaramba Devi Temple , Mahalakshmi Temple Kolhapur, Mahurye Ekaveerika Temple also known as Renuka Devi Temple , Gad Kalika Mata Temple , Puruhutika Devi Temple  , Maa Biraja Temple ,Sri Manikyamba DevÄ« , Kamakhya Temple , Alopi Devi Temple , Jwalamukhi Temple, Mangla Gauri Temple ,Vishalakshi Temple Temple , Sharda Peeth temple , Shankari Devi Peetam temple